Minutes of the NEASECS Business Meeting

Welcome & thank you:  President Berglund welcomed everyone and expressed an enthusiastic thank you to Amy Wyngaard and her team for organizing such a wonderful conference.

Amy thanked Jean-Francois Bedard, Mike Goode, Romita Ray, Erin Mackie, and Amanda Eubanks Winkler for their work making the conference a success, and Syracuse University for their generous sponsorship of the conference.

  1. Minutes:  The minutes from the 2014 Business Meeting at Yale University were approved. 
  2. Financial report:  Melissa Bissonette gave the treasurer’s report.  The total balance in NEASECS accounts as of 1 September 2014 is $39,818.74. 
  3. Election of Executive Board Members:  The following slate of officers and new executive board members were elected:

President:  Lisa Berglund (English, Buffalo State College)
First Vice President:  Peter Sabor (English, McGill University)
Second Vice President:  Jean-Marc Kehrès (French, Trinity College)
Past President:  Lisa Berglund (English, Buffalo State College)
Secretary-Treasurer:  Melissa Bloom Bissonette (English, St. John Fisher College)
Newsletter Editor:  John H. O’Neill (English, Hamilton College)

Executive Board members for 3-year terms:
Katherine Mannheimer (English, University of Rochester)
Kristin O'Rourke (Art History, Dartmouth)
Bethany Cencer (Music, SUNY at Stony Brook)
Claire Baldwin (German, Colgate University)

Upcoming Conferences:  Pres. Berglund announced plans for the next conference.   The 2015 Conference, organized by Jean-Marc Kehrès, will be held on October 8-10 at Trinity University.

O’Neill Bursaries: All graduate students are reminded to apply for the John O’Neill distributed the John O’Neill Graduate Student Bursaries to this year’s awardees: Bethany Cencer (SUNY Stonybrook), Jeremy Lorch (SUNY Brockport), and Melissa Schoenberger (Boston University).

Edna Steeves Prize:  Pres. Berglund announced that the Edna Steeves committee will be accepting applications for the prize through October 1, 2014.  Interested graduate students should email papers to Amy Wyngaard. 

Thank you to President:  Everyone thanked Lisa Berglund for her service as president of NEASECS.

Respectfully submitted,
Melissa Bissonette, NEASECS Sec./Treas.

Webmaster Melissa Bloom Bissonette
Created by IPS Media